Medical Student Scholarship

JEDI-AAEM is excited to present our Medical Student Scholarship! Our goal is to support a pipeline of diverse talent entering emergency medicine. This scholarship will provide additional financial resources for underrepresented in medicine (URiM) medical students during the expensive residency application process.

This scholarship will be granted to underrepresented medical students applying to EM residency programs (including combined programs). We utilize a broad definition of URiM that includes, but is not limited to, race, ethnicity, gender identity, sexual orientation, and immigration status.

Scholarship awardees will receive $500 for residency application expenses such as: application fees, interview attire, technology needed for virtual interviews, and/or interview travel. Each awardee will also be matched with a JEDI-AAEM mentor, if they do not already have one, that will help them navigate the residency application process.

Applications are now closed. The 2024 winners will be announced soon.

Application Requirements

  • Applicants must be current AAEM/RSA members (Join AAEM/RSA) and JEDI-AAEM members (Join JEDI-AAEM – free for AAEM/RSA members)
  • Complete the JEDI-AAEM Medical Student Scholarship Application by October 29, 2023 with the following information:
    • Written essay (250 word limit) or video submission (1-2 minute time limit) to introduce yourself and explain why you chose emergency medicine
    • Copy of Step 1 and/or Step 2 score(s)
    • Transcript (does not have to be school authorized, may be a screen shot of grades)
    • Curriculum Vitae (including evidence of community outreach or passion project)
    • Photo of yourself (optional)

Scholarship Awardee Requirements

If selected, JEDI-AAEM will request the following information to be completed prior to receiving the scholarship:

  • A copy of your AAMC application receipt
  • Receipt of ERAS application submission to EM
  • Copies of receipts such as application fees, interview attire, technology needed for virtual interviews, and/or interview travel up to $500
  • Completion of W-9 and submitted to AAEM

These outstanding students earned $500 toward their residency application journey. This scholarship was created for underrepresented medical students interested in emergency medicine! We are committed to diversifying emergency medicine in order to facilitate varied perspectives in a forever growing field. Congratulations!

Previous Winners

2024 Winners

Chinelo C. Agwuncha
Lincoln Memorial University DeBusk College of Medicine

Gabrielle Bastedo (nee Sallard)
Baylor College of Medicine

Amera Hassan
University of Minnesota, School of Medicine

Amina Ibrahim
All Saints University School of Medicine

Donovan Inniss
University of Michigan Medical School (UMMS)

Desean Lee
Rowan University, School of Osteopathic Medicine

Kelsey Newbold
Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine

Aliza Siddiqui
Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University

2023 Winners

Michael Chiang
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Abdoul Kone
Howard University College of Medicine

William Mundo
University of Colorado School of Medicine

Anantha Singarajah
Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine

Kristen Woody
Saint Louis University School of Medicine


If you have questions or would like more information about this scholarship, please email AAEM, or call 800-884-2236.