Critical Care Medicine Section

The primary purpose of the Critical Care Medicine Section (CCMS-AAEM) is to serve as a forum for those interested in critical care to exchange information among the group, as well as with fellow AAEM members.

The section will help develop critical care educational opportunities at Scientific Assembly and through webinars, and be a centralized point of communication for medical students, residents, and attendings.

The section will works closely with AAEM/RSA to provide mentorship to medical students and residents who are interested in critical care fellowships.

Opening Soon | Call for CCMS-AAEM Section Council Nominations

The CCMS-AAEM Section election is democratic – YOU nominate and elect your leaders! CCMS-AAEM is seeking nominations from CCMS-AAEM members for the 2023-24 Council term. If you know someone who will be a great leader for CCMS-AAEM, nominate them when CCMS-AAEM Leadership Nominations open!

Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged!

Nominations Open: Tuesday, January 3, 2023
Nominations Close: Monday, February 23, 2023

Positions Available (one-year term):

The Chair-Elect is elected by the section membership for a one year term. The Chair-Elect is responsible for:

  • Running and attending Section Council and Membership meetings in the absence of the Chair
  • Assisting with managing the Section
  • Promoting the AAEM mission by increasing Section membership through recruiting new members
  • Developing valuable engaging member benefits for attendings.
  • Attend the bimonthly Section Leadership Committee meeting
  • Must be an AAEM member in good standing
  • Upon completion of the term, the Chair-Elect ascends to the role of Section Chair.

Must be an active AAEM member and completed a Critical Care Fellowship at the time of application/nomination.

The Secretary/Finance Chair is responsible for:

  • Overseeing the finances and membership of the Section and attend Section Council and Membership meetings
  • Posting a short summary following Council meetings highlighting action, invitation and engagement items for members on MyAAEM and/or monthly newsletter
  • Engaging Section members through developing valuable member benefits and communicating with members via MyAAEM, email, social media and other resources
  • Must be an AAEM member in good standing.

Must be an active AAEM member and completed a Critical Care Fellowship at the time of application/nomination.

The number of Councilors for each Section are defined by the bylaws. Councilors are responsible for:

  • Attending Section Council meetings (minimum 75% of meetings)
  • Serving as the workgroup lead for one or more activities/initiatives and/or events
  • Completing objectives by accepting task assignments and meeting deadlines
  • Participating in discussion and offer constructive criticism, as well as suggestions for future activities
  • Must be an AAEM member in good standing

The number of Resident/Student Representatives for each Section are defined in the bylaws. Resident/Student Representatives are responsible for:

  • Attending Section Council & Membership meetings
  • Assisting with organizing webinars, networking and mentorship opportunities to recruit, engage, and sustain students and residents in the Section
  • Providing regular summaries and report-outs to the AAEM/RSA Board of Directors
  • Must be an AAEM/RSA member in good standing.

The representatives are nominated and elected by membership.


Get Started

Upcoming Events

CCMS Council Meeting

Thursday, July 7, 2022 | 5:00pm PT / 6:00pm MT / 7:00pm CT / 8:00pm ET

CCMS Council meetings are open to Critical Critical Section members and guests. Zoom meetings are held on the first Thursday each month at 7:00pm CT. See MyAAEM for the Zoom link and passcode or email

New Resource: Managing Critically Ill COVID-19 Patients in the ED

The CCMS Council has created and gathered resources specific to helping members during the COVID-19 pandemic. Learn more.

Contact Us

Email us at to reach the Chair of CCMS.


Social Media PolicyWebsite Disclaimer

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.