Pain and Addiction

Pain and Addiction Committee

Who We Are 

The mission of the AAEM Pain and Addiction Committee is providing safe, effective, and efficient analgesia and procedural sedation in the ED and addressing and treating addiction in a patient-centered, evidence-based manner free of commercial bias. This mission is accomplished by dissemination and sharing of knowledge, by creation of pain and addiction management guidelines, by promoting advanced concepts in pain management, sedation, and addiction management, and by multi-specialty collaborations. Our goal is to serve as a forum for AAEM members who share an interest in pain, addiction, and sedation, as well as acting as a liaison between AAEM leadership and issues that arise in these domains.


  • Collaboration with the Emergency Medical Services Section on a white paper focused on the prehospital use of ketamine.
  • Advising the Academy on issues surrounding pain management and addiction medicine and identifying opportunities for advocacy.
  • Provide educational content on the most current and relevant topics related to the management of pain and addiction for the benefit of AAEM members and all emergency physicians.


Jessica Moore, MD FAAEM

Samantha Huo
Vice Chair

Kraftin E. Schreyer, MD MBA FAAEM
Board Liaison

Erica Pollnow
Staff Liaison

Our Projects

Common Sense Articles
Letter to Congressional Leadership

AAEM, with assistance from the AAEM Pain and Addiction Committee, signed on to a letter today asking Congressional leaders to pass the Mainstreaming Addiction Treatment Act (MAT Act, H.R. 2482, S. 2074).

“In response to the coronavirus pandemic, the twelve undersigned organizations representing behavioral health and substance use disorder treatment providers and public health advocates write to encourage Congress to pass the Mainstreaming Addiction Treatment Act (MAT Act, H.R. 2482, S. 2074). This bipartisan, bicameral legislation would remove the federal barrier established by the DATA 2000 Act that requires health care practitioners to obtain a waiver from Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) before prescribing buprenorphine, one of three drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to treat opioid use disorder (OUD)…”

This letter was signed by:

American Academy of Emergency Medicine
American College of Emergency Physicians
American College of Medical Toxicology
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
Community Catalyst
Drug Policy Alliance
Harm Reduction Coalition
National Association of Attorneys General
National Council for Behavioral Health
National Health Care for the Homeless Council
The Pew Charitable Trusts

Read Letter
How to Join

If you are interested in joining our committee, apply today!

Apply to Join a Committee

Appointments are confirmed on a quarterly basis (January, April, July, October).