American Academy of Emergency Medicine

Join a Chapter Division

AAEM members can make an impact on the local level by forming a chapter division of AAEM. Although the bylaws of a potential chapter division must be approved by the AAEM board of directors in order to make the liaison with AAEM official, an important feature of AAEM chapter divisions is that they are run as separate organizations from the national society. Although emergency physicians are certainly encouraged to join both their chapter division and national AAEM, there is no requirement that they do. Those physicians who wish to belong solely to an AAEM chapter division may contact info@aaem.org to complete the application process.

AAEM currently has eleven official chapter divisions. Find out more about each chapter below.

Arizona Chapter Division

Visit the AZAAEM website

Membership: Almost 150 members
   President: Brian Drummond
   Vice President: Christopher Viscusi
   Secretary/Treasurer: Anna L. Woeckener
At-Large directors:
   Christopher Lipinski
   John Gallagher
   Andrea Wolff
   Dale Woolridge
   Full Voting ($50.00)
   Associate ($25.00)
   Resident (Free)
   Student (Free)

California Chapter Division

Visit the CAL/AAEM website

Membership: Almost 800 members
     President: John Christensen, MD FAAEM
     Immediate Past President: Lisa Mills, MD FAAEM
     Vice President: Jennifer Kanapicki Comer, MD FAAEM
     Secretary: Randy Woo, MD
     Full Voting ($120)
     Associate ($60)
     Resident (Free)
     Resident w/ WestJEM ($25.00)
     Student (Free)
     Student w/ WestJEM ($25.00)

Western Journal ofWestJEM
Emergency Medicine



Delaware Valley Chapter Division

2018 DVAAEM Residents' Day and Meeting - March 8, 2018

The Delaware Valley Chapter of AAEM is the chapter division for emergency physicians from
New Jersey, Delaware, and Southeast Pennsylvania.

Membership: Over 450 members
     Delaware President: Brian Levine, MD FAAEM
     Delaware Director: John Madden, MD FAAEM
     Delaware Resident Representative: Pearl Horng, MD
     New Jersey President: Brian Walsh, MD FAAEM
     New Jersey Director: Michael Silverman, MD FAAEM
     New Jersey Resident Representative: Open
     Pennsylvania President: Robert McNamara, MD FAAEM
     Pennsylvania Director: Manish Garg, MD FAAEM
     Pennsylvania Resident Representative: Kraftin Schreyer, MD
     Full Voting ($50.00)
     Associate ($25.00)
     Resident (Free)
     Student (Free)

Florida Chapter Division

Visit the FLAAEM website

Membership: Over 200 members
     President: Vicki Norton, MD FAAEM
     Immediate Past President: David Rosenthal, MD FAAEM
     Vice President: Ramon Pabalan, MD FAAEM
     Secretary-Treasurer: Steven Parr, DO FAAEM
     Past President’s Council Representative: Mark Foppe, DO FAAEM
At-Large Directors
     Michael Dalley, DO FAAEM
     Joseph Shiber, MD FAAEM
     Alexandra Terskiy, MD FAAEM
Associate Member Representative
     Wanda Espinoza-Cruz, DO
Student Member Representative
Gustavo Rey
Resident Member Representative
     Robert Farrow, DO
     Full Voting ($100.00)
     Affiliate ($50.00) - Click here for application & more information
     Associate ($50.00)
     Resident (Free)
     Student (Free)

Great Lakes Chapter Division

Visit the GLAAEM website

Membership: 200 members
     President: Ronny Otero, MD FAAEM
     Vice President: Sudhir Baliga, MD FAAEM
     Secretary/Treasurer: Robert Hoogstra, MD FAAEM
     Immediate Past President: Michael C. Walters, MD FAAEM
State Representatives:
     Illinois Representative: Dipul Patadia, MD FAAEM
     Indiana Representative: Thomas Short, MD FAAEM
     Iowa Representative: Michael E. Takacs, MD FAAEM
     Ohio Representative: David Cheng, MD FAAEM
     Michigan Representative: Marc B. Ydenberg, MD FAAEM
     Wisconsin Representative: Brady McIntosh, MD FAAEM
Resident Representatives:
     Nicoolas McManus, DO
     Matthew Negaard, MD
     Full Voting ($40.00)
     Associate ($40.00)
     Resident (Free)
     Student (Free)

Louisiana Chapter Division

Vote Now – 2017 AAEMLa Board of Directors Election

Membership: 89 members
    President: Lisa Moreno-Walton, MD MS MSCR FAAEM
    Vice President: Christopher Voigt, MD FAAEM
    Secretary Treasurer: David Beran, DO MPH FAAEM
    Shannon Alwood, MD FAAEM
    Pierre Detiege, MD FAAEM
    Joel Mosley, MD FAAEM
    Andre J. Mouledoux, Jr., MD FAAEM 
    Mark Rice, MD FAAEM
Resident Directors:
   Anthony Sciascia, II, MD MS
   Christian Sobky, MD
   Christopher H. Williams, MD
    Full Voting ($75.00) - includes free registration to Annual Chapter Division Meeting
    Associate ($50.00) - includes free registration to Annual Chapter Division Meeting
    Resident (Free membership) - $5.00 registration to Annual Chapter Division Meeting
    Medical Students ($5.00)

Missouri Chapter Division

Membership: 70 members
     Vice President: Laurie Byrne, MD FAAEM
     Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Lorber, MD FAAEM
     Komo Gurashami, MD FAAEM
     Carl Kraemer, MD FAAEM
     Vijai Chauhan, MD FAAEM
     Preti Dalawari, MD FAAEM
     Katrina Wade, MD FAAEM
     Full Voting ($100.00)
     Associate ($50.00)
     Resident (Free)
     Student (Free)
     Allied Health ($25.00)

New York Chapter Division

Visit the NYAAEM website

Membership: 400 members
     President: Eric Lubliner, MD FAAEM
     Vice President: Hossein T. Kalantari, MD MPH FAAEM
     Secretary/Treasurer: Denis R. Pauze, MD FAAEM
     William F. Paolo, MD FAAEM
At Large Directors:
     Lillian Oshva, MD FAAEM
     Full Voting (Free)
     Associate (Free)
     Resident (Free)
     Medical Student (Free)

Tennessee Chapter Division

Membership: Almost 125 members
     President: Andy Walker, MD FAAEM
     Vice President: Geoffrey Lifferth, MD FAAEM
     Secretary/Treasurer: Marc Mickiewicz, MD FAAEM
     Immediate Past President: David W. Lawhorn, MD FAAEM
     Nabil Boutros, MD FAAEM
     Mary Jane Brown, MD FAAEM
     Eric Bruno, MD FAAEM
     Ralf Joffe, MD FAAEM
     Bill Lummus, MD FAAEM     

Learn the history of the TNAAEM emblem. 

Resident Representatives
     Lauren Burton, MD    
     Full Voting ($50.00)
     Associate ($25.00)
     Resident (Free)
     Student (Free)

Texas Chapter Division

Vote Now – 2017 TAEM Board of Directors Election

Membership: 140 members
     President: Brandon Browne, MD FAAEM
     Vice President: Jon Jaffe, MD FAAEM
     Secretary: David A. Smith, MD FAAEM
     Full Voting Member ($50.00)
     3 year Full Voting Member ($100.00)
     Associate Member ($25.00)            
     3 year Associate Member ($50.00)

Uniformed Services Chapter Division (USAAEM)

Visit the USAAEM website

Membership: Over 160 members

Nominations Now Being Accepted for
2017 USAAEM Board of Directors Election

(Deadline: Wednesday, January 4, 2017)

Online Nomination Form at USAAEM website

     Full Voting ($50.00)
     Associate ($30.00)
     Resident  (Free)
     Student (Free)

Virginia Chapter Division

Visit the VA-AAEM website

Membership: Over 150 members
     President - Joel M. Clingenpeel, MD MPH FAAEM
     Vice President - William J. Brady, MD FAAEM
     Secretary/Treasurer- Steven M. Taylor, DO FAAEM
     Immediate Past President - Matthew P. Rhames, MD FAAEM
     Steven M. Taylor, DO FAAEM
     Full Voting ($75.00)
     Associate ($50.00)
     Allied Health (Free)
     Allied Health w/WestJEM ($25.00)
     Resident (Free)
     Resident w/WestJEM ($25.00)
     Student (Free)
     Student w/WestJEM ($25.00)