

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Katy Konkel

Senior Marketing and Communications Manager

kkonkel@aaem.org
Phone: 800-884-2236

## AAEM Announces 2025-2026 Board of Directors

Milwaukee, WI, April 9, 2025 — The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is pleased to announce the newly elected members of its Board of Directors for the 2025-2026 term. These leaders exemplify AAEM's commitment to physician-led emergency medicine, advocacy, and education, ensuring the highest standards of patient care and professional integrity.

Joining the Board as At-Large Directors for the 2025–2027 term are Eric Brader, MD FAAEM; Fred E. Kency, Jr., MD FAAEM; and Robert E. Suter, DO MHA FAAEM — each bringing valuable experience and dedication to advancing the mission of AAEM:

- Eric Brader, MD FAAEM A founding member of AAEM, Dr. Brader has been a lifelong advocate for physician autonomy, a pioneer in resuscitative hypothermia research, and a leader in the fight against corporate control in emergency medicine.
- Fred E. Kency, Jr., MD FAAEM A U.S. Navy veteran and incumbent AAEM Board Member, Dr. Kency has spent his tenure advancing mentorship, professional equity, and community engagement in emergency medicine.
- Robert E. Suter, DO MHA FAAEM A seasoned leader and past AAEM Board Member, Dr. Suter has spent over 30 years advocating for board-certified emergency physicians, specialty integrity, and international emergency medicine development.

They will join an esteemed group of returning leaders on the AAEM Board of Directors for the 2025-2026 term, including:

- President: Robert Frolichstein, MD FAAEM
- President-Elect: Vicki Norton, MD FAAEM
- Secretary-Treasurer: Phillip A. Dixon, MD MBA MPH FAAEM CHCQM-PHYADV
- Immediate Past President: Jonathan S. Jones. MD FAAEM
- Past Presidents Council Representative: Joseph P. Wood, MD JD MAAEM FAAEM
- At-Large Directors:
  - Heidi Best, MD FAAEM
  - Laura J. Bontempo, MD Med FAAEM
  - o Kimberly M. Brown, MD MPH FAAEM
  - o Frank L. Christopher, MD FAAEM
  - o Fred E. Kency, Jr., MD FAAEM
  - o Robert P. Lam, MD FAAEM
  - Kevin C. Reed, MD FAAEM
  - Young Physician Section Director: Haig Aintablian, MD FAAEM
- AAEM/RSA President: Katy Wyszynski, DO MS

AAEM President Robert Frolichstein, MD FAAEM, welcomed the newly elected board members, stating, "AAEM is proud to add these dedicated physicians to our Board of Directors. Their diverse expertise and commitment to physician-led

emergency medicine will strengthen our advocacy for fair practice environments, patient-centered care, and excellence in our specialty. I look forward to working with them to advance AAEM's mission and amplify our voice in emergency medicine."

AAEM congratulates all newly elected and returning board members and remains steadfast in its mission to support emergency medicine physicians, advocate for high-quality patient care, and uphold the values that define the specialty. For more information on AAEM leadership, upcoming events, and educational initiatives, visit AAEM's official website.

###

The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is the specialty society of emergency medicine and the champion of the emergency physician. AAEM was established in 1993 to promote fair and equitable practice environments necessary to allow emergency physicians to deliver the highest quality of patient care. Our guiding values are embodied in our mission and vision statements.