

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Katy Konkel

Senior Marketing and Communications Manager

kkonkel@aaem.org
Phone: 800-884-2236

AAEM Welcomes Robert Frolichstein, MD FAAEM, as President

Milwaukee, WI, May 7, 2024 — The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is proud to announce the appointment of Robert Frolichstein, MD FAAEM, as its President for the 2024-2026 term. Dr. Frolichstein, currently presiding over Greater San Antonio Emergency Physicians (GSEP), brings a wealth of experience and dedication to the AAEM leadership team. Under his guidance, GSEP has navigated the complexities of providing top-tier emergency care to over 200,000 patients annually across six emergency departments, all while maintaining its status as an independent, democratic group.

A distinguished alumnus of Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville and the University of Missouri Medical School, Dr. Frolichstein's journey in medicine commenced with a military scholarship, leading him to a transitional internship at Tripler Army Medical Center in Honolulu, HI. His commitment took him further to the Republic of Panama, where he was integral in emergency services at Gorgas Army Hospital and led a health clinic for active-duty soldiers and their families. Completing his Emergency Medicine Residency in San Antonio, TX, he served as a vital part of the teaching faculty, fulfilling his military obligation with distinction.

Transitioning to civilian practice, Dr. Frolichstein joined GSEP, where his leadership skills flourished, ultimately ascending to the role of President. In this capacity, he has championed the values of fairness, transparency, and the importance of independent practice in emergency medicine—principles that resonate deeply with AAEM's mission.

Dr. Frolichstein's involvement with AAEM is driven by a desire to preserve and promote these core values, ensuring that emergency physicians have a strong, collective voice in the broader medical community. His dedication to the independent practice model and community emergency physician perspective is set to influence AAEM's direction significantly, promoting advocacy, education, and the highest standards of patient care.

"I am honored to lead AAEM at such a pivotal time," said Dr. Frolichstein. "The challenges and opportunities before us are immense, from advocating for due process rights for emergency physicians to ensuring that medical decisions remain in the hands of those most qualified to make them. My vision for AAEM is to continue to build upon our strong foundation, fostering an environment where every emergency physician can thrive."

Dr. Frolichstein's clinical and non-clinical interests have been shaped by a diverse career spanning military and civilian emergency medicine, enriched by significant roles in medical education and organized medicine. As AAEM moves forward under his leadership, the organization is poised to further its impact on the emergency medicine landscape, advocating for the rights and wellbeing of emergency physicians and patients alike.

The AAEM Board of Directors welcomes Dr. Frolichstein and looks forward to his leadership and the advancements he will bring to the emergency medicine community during his presidency.

The AAEM board of directors also includes:

President-Elect: Vicki Norton, MD FAAEM

- Immediate Past President: Jonathan S. Jones, MD FAAEM
- Past Presidents Council Representative: Tom Scaletta, MD MAAEM FAAEM
- Secretary-Treasurer: Phillip A. Dixon, MD MBA MPH FAAEM CHCQM-PHYADV
- At-Large Board Members:
 - o Heidi Best, MD FAAEM
 - o Kimberly M. Brown, MD MPH FAAEM
 - o Laura J. Bontempo, MD MEd FAAEM
 - Frank L. Christopher, MD FAAEM
 - o Fred E. Kency, Jr., MD FAAEM FACEP
 - o Robert P. Lam, MD FAAEM
 - Bruce Lo, MD MBA RDMS FAAEM
 - o Kevin C. Reed, MD FAAEM
 - Kraftin Schreyer, MD MBA FAAEM
- YPS Director: Haig Aintablian, MD FAAEM
- AAEM/RSA President: Mary Unanyan, DO
- Chief Executive Officer, AAEM-PG: Mark Reiter, MD MBA MAAEM FAAEM
- Editor, Journal of Emergency Medicine, Ex-Officio Board Member: Stephen Hayden, MD FAAEM
- Editor, Common Sense, Ex-Officio Board Member: Keith Edwin Leap II, MD FAAEM

For more information on AAEM's leadership, events, and educational programs, please visit AAEM's official website.

###

The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is the specialty society of emergency medicine and the champion of the emergency physician. AAEM was established in 1993 to promote fair and equitable practice environments necessary to allow emergency physicians to deliver the highest quality of patient care. Our guiding values are embodied in our mission and vision statements.