

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Katy Konkel Senior Marketing and Communications Manager <u>kkonkel@aaem.org</u> Phone: 800-884-2236

AAEM Announces 2024-2025 Board of Directors

Milwaukee, WI, May 7, 2024 — The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is pleased to announce the composition of its Board of Directors for the 2024-2025 term. This announcement reflects AAEM's commitment to excellence in emergency medicine and leadership in healthcare.

Vicki Norton, MD FAAEM, takes on the mantle as AAEM President-Elect. With a distinguished career in emergency medicine and a track record of leadership within the Academy, she is poised to lead the organization towards new heights. Dr. Norton brings a wealth of experience and a vision for the future of emergency medicine.

Phillip A. Dixon, MD MBA MPH FAAEM CHCQM-PHYADV, has been elected to the pivotal role of Secretary-Treasurer. As a leading figure in the emergency medicine field, he embodies the qualities of leadership, diligence, and innovation essential for the progression of AAEM and its mission.

AAEM is excited to welcome the following newly elected At-Large Directors for the 2024-2026 term:

- Frank L. Christopher, MD FAAEM, a renowned emergency physician with extensive experience in patient care and emergency medicine education.
- Robert P. Lam, MD FAAEM, brings a wealth of experience in emergency medicine and a collaborative spirit to the board.
- Kevin C. Reed, MD FAAEM, whose expertise in emergency medicine operations and leadership will contribute significantly to the board's objectives.

Additionally, Fred E. Kency, Jr., MD FAAEM FACEP, recognized for his broad expertise and contributions across various facets of emergency medicine has been appointed an At-Large Director for the 2024-2025 term.

Haig Aintablian, MD FAAEM, representing the Young Physician Section (YPS), has been elected to serve a two-year term. This role is crucial for incorporating the perspectives and addressing the interests of young physicians within the academy.

The AAEM board of directors also includes:

- President: Robert Frolichstein, MD FAAEM
- Past President: Jonathan S. Jones, MD FAAEM
- Past Presidents Council Representative: Tom Scaletta, MD MAAEM FAAEM
- At-Large Board Members:
 - Heidi Best, MD FAAEM
 - Laura J. Bontempo, MD Med FAAEM
 - Kimberly M. Brown, MD MPH FAAEM
 - o Bruce Lo, MD MBA RDMS FAAEM
 - Kraftin Schreyer, MD MBA FAAEM
- AAEM/RSA President: Mary Unanyan, DO

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF EMERGENCY MEDICINE 555 East Wells Street, Suite 1100, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (800) 884-2236 | info@aaem.org | www.aaem.org

- AAEM Physicians Group Chief Executive Officer: Mark Reiter, MD MBA MAAEM FAAEM
- Editor, Journal of Emergency Medicine, Ex-Officio Board Member: Stephen Hayden, MD FAAEM
- Editor, Common Sense, Ex-Officio Board Member: Keith Edwin Leap II, MD FAAEM

AAEM extends its heartfelt congratulations to all appointed and elected members and looks forward to their contributions toward advancing emergency medicine. The organization remains committed to its mission of fostering excellence in emergency medicine through advocacy, education, and research, benefiting both emergency medicine professionals and the communities they serve.

For more information on AAEM's leadership, events, and educational programs, please visit AAEM's official website.

###

The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is the specialty society of emergency medicine and the champion of the emergency physician. AAEM was established in 1993 to promote fair and equitable practice environments necessary to allow emergency physicians to deliver the highest quality of patient care. Our guiding values are embodied in our <u>mission</u> and vision statements.