AAEM Announces 2016 Board of Directors Election Results

March 8, 2016

MILWAUKEE — The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is pleased to announce that Kevin G. Rodgers, MD FAAEM, was elected as president; David A. Farcy, MD FAAEM FCCM, was elected as president-elect; and Lisa Moreno-Walton, MD MS MSCR FAAEM, was elected as secretary-treasurer.

Jonathan S. Jones, MD FAAEM; Terrence Mulligan, DO MPH FAAEM FIFEM; and Joel Schofer, MD RDMS CPE FAAEM, were elected to two-year terms as at-large board members. Megan Healy, MD FAAEM; Brian Potts, MD MBA FAAEM; and Thomas R. Tobin, MD MBA FAAEM, were appointed to one-year terms as at-large board members.

Robert Stuntz, MD RDMS FAAEM, was elected to serve as the Young Physicians Section (YPS) director. The YPS director position is a one-year term. 

Dr. Rodgers is Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine at Indiana University in Indianapolis, IN; Dr. Farcy is Chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Mount Sinai Medical Center in Miami Beach, FL; and Dr. Moreno-Walton is Professor of Emergency Medicine, Director of Research and Director of Diversity, Director of HIV & HCV Testing Program at Louisiana State University HSC in New Orleans, LA.

Dr. Jones is Program Director and Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, MS; Dr. Mulligan is Clinical Associate Professor and Director of the International Emergency Medicine Program at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD; and Dr. Schofer is a Commander in the Medical Corps, U.S. Navy, in Portsmouth, VA.

Dr. Healy is Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine at Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University in Philadelphia, PA; and Dr. Potts is Medical Director at Alta Bates Emergency Department and a practicing emergency physician at Alta Bates Summit Medical Center in Oakland, CA; and Dr. Tobin is a practicing emergency physician at Pullman Regional Hospital in Pullman, WA and Lourdes Medical Center in Pasco, WA.

Dr. Stuntz is Program Director of the Emergency Medicine Residency and Vice Chair of Education in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Wellspan York Hospital in York, PA.

The AAEM board of directors also includes:

Immediate Past President
Mark Reiter, MD MBA FAAEM — 2018

Past Presidents Council Representative
Larry Weiss, MD JD MAAEM FAAEM — 2017

At-Large Board Members
Robert Suter, DO MHA FAAEM — 2017
Leslie Zun, MD MBA FAAEM — 2017

AAEM/RSA President
Victoria Weston, MD — 2016  

Editor, Journal of Emergency Medicine, Ex-Officio Board Member
Stephen R. Hayden, MD FAAEM

Editor, Common Sense, Ex-Officio Board Member
Andy Walker, MD FAAEM


The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is the specialty society in emergency medicine today. As an organization, AAEM believes achievement of board certification represents the only acceptable method of
 attaining recognition as a specialist in emergency medicine.

For more information, please visit www.aaem.org or call 800-884-2236.



Social Media PolicyWebsite Disclaimer

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.