The WiEM Section of AAEM works to develop leadership by:

  • Offering professional development opportunities and sponsorship to advance women to leadership positions within AAEM and their home institutions
  • Promoting women members in AAEM via nominations for presentations at SA, committees, board positions, and awards
  • Providing scholarships for junior members to attend relevant AAEM events (HPEM, ED Management Solutions, pre-conference offerings at SA, etc.)
  • Creating opportunities for networking with other female leaders within emergency medicine


AAEM Awards

Summary of AAEM Awards (PDF)

  • The WiEM Section nominated Joanne Williams, MD MAAEM FAAEM, who was the first-ever female to receive the Master of the American Academy of Emergency Medicine Award in 2018
  • The WiEM Section also nominated the following award recipients:
    • Ashley Bean, MD FAAEM | Amin Kazzi International Emergency Medicine Leadership Award (2018)
    • Loice Swisher, MD FAAEM | James Keaney Award (2019)



Social Media PolicyWebsite Disclaimer

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.