Pain and Addiction Committee

Who We Are 

This committee of dedicated and passionate EM physicians will have a mission of providing safe, effective and efficient analgesia and procedural sedation in the ED and addressing and treating addiction that are patient-centered, evidence-based and commercial-biased free. This mission will be accomplished by dissemination and sharing of knowledge, by creation of pain management guidelines, by promoting advanced concepts in pain management and sedation, and by multi-specialty collaborations. Our goal is to continue to act as a virtual and in-person meeting source for AAEM members who share an interest in pain, addiction and sedation, as well as acting as a liaison between AAEM leadership and issues that arise in these domains.




Chair: Zachary Repanshek, MD FAAEM

Vice Chair: Alexis LaPietra, DO FACEP FAAEM

Board Liaison: Kraftin E. Schreyer, MD MBA FAAEM

Staff Liaison:  Thomas G. Derenne


Our Projects


  1. Creation of an ED pain and procedural sedation curriculum.
  2. Implementation of evidence-based guidelines for responsible opioid use in the ED that accounts for their benefits and harms. 
  3. Fostering multi-specialty collaboration to promote a targeted, multimodal analgesia approach for patients who present for emergency care with acute and chronic pain.


White Paper


Letter to Congressional Leadership



Social Media PolicyWebsite Disclaimer

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.